Linker IT Software
Google
Web www.oraxcel.com
menubar-top-links menubar-top-rechts
Home Help Search Login
Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
SQL*XL: Database to Excel bridge litLIB: Excel power functions pack ExcelLock: Locking and securing your valuable Excel spreadsheets encOffice: Protect your Excel file easy and safe encOffice: Protect your Excel file easy and safe
Pages: 1
Restricted Rollouts of SQL*XL (Read 2834 times)
Gerrit-Jan Linker
YaBB Administrator

Restricted Rollouts of SQL*XL
11.05.08 at 21:13:36

Restricted Rollouts of SQL*XL

Hi, I am an Oracle functional consultant and from time to time people request me to recommend a simple SQL tool.

They end up buying an expensive tool they don't need, until I bought yours on the weekend and had a play with it. Now I can recommend something more practical.

I was wondering about the possibilities of limiting the functional use of your product for specific companies, i.e.;

1. The user cannot create or change the sql scripts available for execution, allowing them to only execute the ones provided by IT.

2. Some kind of inbuilt http or ftp or LAN update that will refresh the list of SQL scripts they have access to, i.e. allow me to publish a list of scripts for each user and not have to manually update each PC with the list of available reports.

3. Lastly, if a company buys say, 10 licenses then I would like the ability for a completely hands-off installation. Some kind of server key or something.
The reason for this is that I have users in America and Japan and installing the key etc is difficult remotely. Is there some kind of server validation that could be made to ensure we didn't go over our number of purchased licenses?

Please let me know your thoughts on these as this kind of request comes up for me on a regular basis and I would like to know what is possible so I can let my customers know.

Thanks in Advance
Andy

Gerrit-Jan Linker
Linker IT Software
Email WWW Gerrit-Jan Linker   IP Logged